Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | July 22, 2012

TAST catch-up Weeks 27,28,29

I’ve not been so far behind before but finally have work and photos done for the last 3 weeks.
Week 27 – Up and Down Buttonhole

I used a fine hand dyed silk thread for the pale  green examples.  Perle 8 for the Back-to-back and 1/2 circle ones.

The dark green is some sort of silk fibre, no idea what.  I made 3 bars – U/D buttonhole + 1 extra up stitch in the same hole.

The square was stitched the same way, except for the corners.  I had one U/dB’hole stitch + 2 extra of the 2nd movement.

I think 2 normal U/D pair  using one hole would be exactly the same.

I alternated the stitch for the center..

earlier samples are here, here ,  and here

Week 28 – Bonnet stitch

2 earlier samples with Oyster stitch

Sorry the the photo is upside down. so the notes are back to front

I began without looking at the directions and found, when I checked, that it is perhaps a mirror image as the bottom loops are in the opposite direction.

The next 3 are correct.  The purple one is stitched with perle 12 and the last 2, meant to be back to back, are a space apart instead but good practise anyway.

All green threads are  perle 8.

Week 29 – Basque

Inspired by Sadalas’s Cable Chain combined with her Magic chain variation, I tried it for this and it worked – top left

Below this are a pink row and a blue one.  All using 2 strands of DMC thread

On the right I used 3 strands.  I liked alternating this stitch.

I had quite a few samples in Tast 1 here

 

 

 


We are past the half way mark of TAST 3 and it’s becoming even more interesting with new variations.  For more details about Sharon’s TAST,

please visit here

Responses

  1. Good girl, you have caught up and done a splendid job. The middle row of U/D buttonhole is so nice, a look I love and had never thought of. I am also impressed that you have made a magic Basque stitch using two colours. It is always such a pleasure to look at your work!
    xxx


Leave a Reply

Categories

Patty Anne - Art

My Watercolor Journey

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

