Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | May 6, 2012

Tast 3 Week 18- Crossed Buttonhole

These four examples are from my Tast 1

and these three are for the current Tast.

I used a section of a pattern from The Antique Pattern Library that Sharon pointed us to.

The first was stitched with perle 8 pink  for Detached Chain and a white perle 8 straight stitch centre.  Olive Stem stitch and Bullions and hand dyed green silk thread for Crossed Buttonhole

The next used hand dyed silk green thread, hand dyed cotton for the Satin stitched flower. The Crossed Buttonhole and Bullions  – sorry I have forgotten the name of this variegated thread.

Lastly a funny green 2 strand DMC for the Crossed Buttonhole with DMC 2 strand green stem and the Oyster stitches were done with Perle 8.

French knots  and Black Pistil stitches used single strands of DMC rayon.

I traced the first pattern and the others were hand drawn and therefore wonky.

There is more information about TAST here  and you can read back through articles of TAST here

NOTE:-  I had been asked by Rose how I made the medallion example.  I meant to add it but forgot.

I trapped a bead between two layers of fabric and worked the Crossed Buttonhole around and over this.  Then laid the metal charm over the centrepiece and stitched that down with pearl beads and more Crossed Buttonhole, using Silf thread, which, sadly,  is not made anymore.

The fan was stitched with one  strand of DMC  -6 strand -gold metallic thread

Responses

  1. You made four wonderful pieces with crossed buttonhole for TAST1 so it is not surprising that these three new pieces are as charming. Well done!

    • Thank you Queenie.

  2. Lovely work! I’m curious about the circle one, tried to find a write up in your blog but it didn’t show up. Would love to know more about this one.

    • Hi Rose, I have added my description of the metal charm sample

  3. each and every detail is beautiful. good use of this stitch.

    • Thank you also jizee6687

  4. The crossed buttonhole is very good incorporated in the beautiful stitching that you did! What a lovely pieces!

    • Thank you Miriam for your kind words.

  5. Thank you for the info. And for visiting my blog!

  6. All your work is just so lovely!

  7. Such inspiration! Such execution! Ah, to sigh over and savor.

  8. Lovely and inspiring interpretations.I love the metal charm sampler .

    • Thanks Julie, JoWynn and Anita 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

Patty Anne - Art

My Watercolor Journey

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

