Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | April 15, 2012

Holiday on Norfolk Island

Along with our daughter, son–law and my DH we spent 10 fabulous days on the island.

We have been promising for about 6 years to visit Mary – of Devon House  fame and finally managed. I’m not linking to Mary’s Blog as she has woeful photos of me there.

What a pleasure it was to meet with her again and see the wonderful island.  Originally a penal settlement for the British it now belongs to the descendants of the Mutiny of the Bounty.

No matter which way you turn there is something to delight the eyes.  The people are so friendly and helpful to all.

We were greeted at the airport by our gracious hosts Mary and her DH Bernie, taken  to our unit and given coffee and cake and later went to their home for a delicious

meal of local fish and vegetables.  The fish was to entice the men to catch their own, which didn’t happen as the weather turned wet and windy, due

to the tail end of the Fijian cyclone.  Not that the weather stopped us touring and it was never cold there.  Showers were intermittent.

I fibbed…. DH caught a 12 inch Parrot fish which he threw back. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We had several meals with Mary, Bernie and family and they were most enjoyable.  It is always

good to meet those whose photos you’ve seen over the years.

Mary’s son hung a whole bunch of green bananas outside our unit and we picked them as they ripened daily.  Such bananas !! I have never tasted

any as wonderful as these.  Sooo fat it took 2 bites to eat across them.  The bunch has been

much reduced.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is the view from the unit. Too busy sightseeing to use the pool.

Just a few samples of what we saw.  I’ll try for more later but now it’s time to do catch-up on TAST and my SAL of Indian Shadow work with Anita.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Responses

  1. Ohh what wonderful photos. I’m so glad you had a fabulous time and all enjoyed yourselves. I had to pop over to Mary’s blog and check out the photos of you all. Nice to see you and Catherine still get excited over a pile of glizty fabric…..lol.

    • Catherine, Chicken Scratching never loses it’s appeal.

  2. What a wonderful trip you had! I can’t think of any better combination than friends, family, travel and stitching. I’m thinking that your next venture should be to Northern California. We have LOTS to show you here.

    • Sounds like a great idea Gayle.

  3. Looks a lovely place where you stayed Maureen and I love parrot fish – so colourful 🙂

  4. So good to have a glimpse of your holiday!

  5. Thanks Barbara and JoWynn, I’ll send you both some photos soon.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

In the Ever After

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

KenMaursCorner

My personal slant on my attempts at creative stitching,my garden,my feline family and the odd(very odd) comment on Life in general)

Susan Hook's embroidery and crafts

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

