Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | March 20, 2012

CHIKAN embroidery

Anita of

http://artisticfingers.blogspot.com.au/

is teaching this embroidery which combines Shadow work, Pulled Threads and Surface embroidery

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The tear-drops are worked with Double Back stitch or  by the Indian name – Bakhya/Bakhiya or Bakhia

There is also Stem stitch or – Rahet  and     Chain stitch – Janjira.

Not only am I learning how to do these stitches but also a few new words.

I have wanted to try Shadow work before but never started.  I like it and hope to improve my stitches.

I have wanted to try Pulled threads but was too nervous to begin… fingers crossed that I can do it.

The work is on pale green muslin using white DMC thread.

Thanks Anita.

 

 

Responses

  1. So beautiful Maureen 🙂
    x

  2. Your stitches show through the green muslin so well! Fun Class!
    Deb

  3. I’ve just joined this class. I love what you have done so far!

  4. Thanks Barbara. 🙂

    Deb I did not think at first the white was showing shadow but the more done, the more it showed up. It is indeed a fun class and so easy.

    Julie, you will enjoy the class and thanks for liking what I’ve done so far.

  5. You are welcome Maureen.Your stitches looks great,don’t worry about the pulled thread…Am sure you’ll rock..
    Nice blog,will come back and read more about CQ.

    • Thank you Anita. I hope you are right about the pulled threads.

  6. […] March 2012 Anita ran a Chikan Sal, which I enjoyed and the first photo I posted on this is here.  I saved my notes and will add them to the Kantha notes in a folder. I’ve decided to use […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

In the Ever After

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

