Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | February 28, 2012

TAST 3 Week 9, Couching – 5 samples

http://tiny.cc/24g6g  My 2010 TAST sample for Couching is here

http://tiny.cc/rklne    and the 2007 TAST sample is here

A few basic stitches for Couching

and a few more ways to Couch

Searching the Web for Couching I found Bokhara Couching and Roumanian Couching as shown in my sample but

I am wondering if they should come under Laid Work.  The Roumanian Couching stitch is actually a straight line

couched on a slant with the same thread.

The green sample is Jacobean Couching, which is another name for Trellis stitch.  It becomes confusing as different nationalities use different names.

The lattice holds the fabric down and the straight stitch holds the latticeing, so it is really double couched.

I used wire edged ribbon and couched with straight stitches…pity they are not ‘straight’.

I also read online that Bengali housewives of old repaired their clothes by withdrawing threads from the garment and using them to make decorative stitching – Kantha- usually running stitch to give a second life to the garment.

Well if you have made it this far you deserve a laugh, so I included my version of repair work.  I had a piece of sari and Couched it to another piece of muslin.  I used neither a design, drawn threads or any finesse in doing so.  I used the bright blue DMC.

If you wish to know all about TAST3 please visit

here at Pintangle

Responses

  1. Thanks for showing all your great samples – appreciate the extra effort.

  2. Love all your samples They are great. Particularly like the zig zag couched with the knots.

  3. Beautiful couching. Very inspiring.

  4. You have proved that there are endless ways to couch down something on the base fabric, French knots, beads, …, you name it. Thank you for sharing.

  5. Ohh very nice. It still amazes me just how many ways a stitch can be used.

  6. hey, i think i know you~! (- ;
    it’s good to have found your blog and i’m pleased that you found mine as well.
    quite a good post on the variations of couching.

    🙂
    libbyQ

  7. Beautiful couching! So many lovely samples!

    • Thank you all for the visit and comments. I appreciate it very much.

  8. I LOVE that bright blue you added…it really makes me smile 🙂 Wonderful examples!

  9. Thank you too Cyndi

  10. Well, I do miss a lot when I only take time for Flickr and don’t look at your blog! You have some wonderful examples here and done some helpful and intriguing research into the stitch. I enjoyed looking at it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

In the Ever After

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

KenMaursCorner

My personal slant on my attempts at creative stitching,my garden,my feline family and the odd(very odd) comment on Life in general)

