Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | February 1, 2012

TAST3-week5, Herringbone

Here is a link to my TAST 1 Herringbone.  from 2007

I’ve been so inspired by so many in Tast3, that I thought I’d better do something different from the samples I’ve produced so far.

Well it is another sample but not on a square or rectangle.

For more TAST -Take A Stitch Tuesday- details please visit http://www.pintangle.com/

 

All stitches are Herringbone except for the body which is Back stitch.

The hair and bra are  Tufted Herringbone.  I found this method in a 2004 Quilting Arts magazine and had used it for grass.  I intended making the bra fluffy but preferred the raised work as it is.  So I made the hair and cut it instead.   LOL it looks more like a hat to me.

The tufting is made by stitching all 5 built up rows with 6 strands of DMC stranded floss. The first row has slightly wider needle entry points and you fill the spaces as you go.  The original threads were varied in thickness.

With only a small area of hair to stitch, I used 3 different Perle 5 threads.  Once I completed the herringbone I cut through the centre of the whole lot (not the fabric behind) and brushed and trimmed where necessary.

The skirt waistband is 2 rows of normal Herringbone

The front line is Laced Herringbone

Aqua and orange line, Double Herringbone

Brown and aqua, Tied (Coral Knot) Herringbone  and the back edge is Herringbone Ladder stitch.  That is not a gap in the orange line, but her hand.  I made a taffeta arm and stitched it at shoulder and wrist, to the work.

Reading from the top left of the last skirt section of the skirt

Threaded Herringbone, Magenta with green threaded through.

This is a second version where the needle goes under the left bar on one side – complete the line and when you come back on the other, you slide the needle under the right bar.

The brown is plain Herringbone in a curve.

The yellow on the right is Couched with 3 more versions of couching in the box.

The yellow on the bottom left is normal Herringbone with orange Closed Herringbone and the leaf, Overlapping Herringbone (or Raised Fishbone)

Lastly on the right is the first version ( I started working the skirt from the bottom up) of Threaded Herringbone  and the green circles are overlaid Herringbone with backstitch edges.

Most of these stitches and names I found in my Mildred Graves Ryan embroidery book.

I did one other sample, which will be used in a block for

CQJP.

Responses

  1. All so very beautiful Maureen and done on the black background makes it loo all the more stunning 🙂
    Barbara
    x

  2. Amazing. so interesting to read how it was done

  3. Thank you Barbara and Jane, for the visit. It’s appreciated.

  4. Brava! She’s wonderful. Will you add more in the weeks to come? I can envision that skirt becoming even more patterned. Stitching on the black is quite bold.

  5. What a delightful imagination you have! It makes sampler stitches worth seeing.

  6. Thank you Diane. I’m not sure about adding more. Black is good to highlight the threads but the pits when taking a photo. The colours puddle into an overall brown. After 27 terrible photos, with and without flash; in the open and in the dark, I used the scanner.

    Thanks Bobbi Pohl for your kind words and visit.

  7. I love the whole image. Such a clever sampler!

  8. Uh, Gravatar changed my info!!

    ~Faith

  9. Thank you Faith.

  10. Very,very nice stitching!!

  11. Thank you Christine


Leave a Reply

Categories

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

In the Ever After

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

