Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | January 8, 2012

TAST 3 – week 1 – Fly Stitch

Plaited Fly = A -plain,  B-whipped

Plaited fly up and down placements

Closed Fly ..on right

Large single Fly as a star and on the right of this the small reversed version

On the bottom left and right of star are outward and inward versions of the placement

Reversed Fly as shown in Pintangle Stitch Dictionary

3 versions =   a Woven    b Whipped    c plain

Woven Fly -Edmar Lola threads used in top

Whipped Fly– 6 strands DMC rayon with pink knitted floss

Plaited Fly – woven with various threads and thickness

Reversed Fly  with single Fly stitches each side using fine wool

Fly st. in fine variegated thread and 5 ply glitter cord

Closed fly leaves – perle 5

Fly stitch rose buds. ..thick thread almost no twist ,with a small straight stitch in centre

fine perle thread leaves

Row 1 Fly detached and 3 darker green stitches touching  – perle 8

Row 2 angled side by side  – perle 8

Row 3 version a, Reversed Fly no space at cross-over.   4 ply cotton

Row 4 Fly head to toe.    4 ply cotton

Row 5 version b, Reversed Fly, space between cross over using 4 ply cotton

Row 6 Fly head to toe grouping perle 8

Responses

  1. Definitive.
    :o)

  2. Thank you Diane

  3. Now that is what I call a through stitch exploration! I love all the variations!
    Deb

  4. Thank you Deb. I hope to explore more stitches to keep as a reference.

  5. Gosh, I thought I’d come up with a good number of variations (yet to post them – hopefully this afternoon), but you put me to shame! Very good selection there.=)

  6. Very interesting! I never thought they are so much variations on this stitch. I think, I’ll try again.

  7. What a gorgeous selection of fly stitch Maureen and so neatly stitched in wonderful colours 🙂
    x

  8. wow! so many different versions of fly stitch.

  9. Very good and precise work on fly stitch! Thank you for your comment on my blog “cocody-art -patch” Marie-Claude

  10. So many nice variations!!

  11. Very good and precise work on fly stitch!thank you for your comment on my work in my blog (cocody-art-patch) Marie-claude in France

  12. love all the variations you made!

  13. I love the way you take the stitch and explore all dimensions of it. This is a wonderful reference.

  14. Great pattern ideas!

  15. Thank you all for your very nice comments. This time around I intend keeping a better record of each stitch. TAST 1 and 2 are mainly UFOs on scraps of fabric.

  16. You have worked some really interesting versions of the fly stitch, very clever patterns too.

  17. Thanks Shirley. Are you attempting the challenge too?

  18. Wow, I am impressed. Kathy

  19. HI Shirley your stitching work is amazing, wish we could meet. It has been a long time apart and neither of us are well. I would love to see you, I miss you very much Love Dord


Leave a Reply

Categories

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

In the Ever After

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

KenMaursCorner

My personal slant on my attempts at creative stitching,my garden,my feline family and the odd(very odd) comment on Life in general)

