Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | October 2, 2011

A stitching bargain

Some time back I bought a Rajmahal kit at our local Fire Station thrift shop.  Titled Aussie Chook House it cost me 50cAu and when I checked the Rajmahal shop it was selling for $49.95 Au.

All the threads and instructions were complete.  What a bargain.

It sat for ages waiting for time to start it.  Then I discovered my Daughter-i-law loooves chooks so out it came.   It was a pleasure to make and it just needs a frame now.

Most of the work used 2 strands of thread.

My favourite part was stitching the chooks.  The bird at the back used one strand of silk, the next used two, the third to the front used 4 strands and the biggest 6 strands.

I was very pleased how they look.  I am sure my DiL will also be happy with it.

Responses

  1. Absolutely stunning Maureen. Not sure what I love most the chooks or the washing on the line…vbg.

  2. Thanks for calling in Catherine. Myself, I like the chooks best. LOL

  3. Maureen, this is wonderful – I love it and I’m sure your DIL will love it too – it also reminds me of Jill’s hens just wandering around in her garden.

    Barbara
    x

  4. Thanks Barbara. Raelene saw the painted background and liked it a lot. The stitching brings it to life.

  5. WOW that did turn out lovely and yes what a bargain too!!!

  6. You’re back! As of a couple of weeks ago. I just caught up. But haven’t have seen the chooks before now? We talked about chicken coops cf. chooks houses.

    • Hi JoWynn, good to see you back again.

  7. Wow Maureen, what a bargain. Its a beautiful embroidered piece, just stunning!

  8. Thanks Sandie.


Leave a Reply

Categories

trishburr.wordpress.com/

Insight into my work and inspirations

Patty Anne - Art

My Watercolor Journey

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

