Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | April 15, 2011

De-stashing? a dilemma

I have been exploring Kantha with an Online friend, Katie.  I love the brightly designed Indian work but had never tried it.


I didn’t really prepare for anything but a few samples so my fabric was nothing special.  I had no design but I found the running stitch so relaxing I just kept stitching.  By the time I got to half way across the panel I decided to keep and use the work in a tote bag.  I was inspired by the Header in Jasimuddin’s site for the woman.
I used Perle 8 threads
these are true colours.

The bag is a rust colour, not red.
My dilemma is..Is it really de-stashing if you use but keep the fabric?
Responses

  1. Make no excuses for keeping fabric Maureen, call it recycling, a very trendy thing to do now!
    Your embroidery is fantastic I love it and I must have a go at this technique.

    Barbara
    x

  2. Well, it’s not in your stash anymore.

  3. I guess you are right JoWynn. Now it is an item. LOL

  4. I like it very much. And you introduction on the technique is interesting, I thought kantha was only with running stitch.

  5. Ofcourse it is! Now you can use it. Beautiful made!

  6. Stunning Maureen.

  7. Isn’t that why we have stash, so that no matter how many recessions and depressions there are we will always be able to make things because we have catered for future uses. Can’t be stash any more its a tote bag, and a very nice one.

  8. I like your attitude Rosemary, I now feel there is a purpose to my ever growing, always changing stash LOL.

  9. […] My Kantha or Running stitch old sample is Here […]

  10. Looks fabulous & wonderfully stitched! The bright colours look great!

    • Thank you for your kind comment JennyPP

  11. Beautiful tote bag,love your kantha embroidery 🙂 I agree with everyone that it’s not a stash now….

    • Thank you very much Anita.


Leave a Reply

Categories

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

In the Ever After

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

KenMaursCorner

My personal slant on my attempts at creative stitching,my garden,my feline family and the odd(very odd) comment on Life in general)

