Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | January 2, 2011

Boxing Day with the family

I apologise for the strange way this post looks but WordPress seems to have a mind of it’s own and I get all the words running together or the pictures spread out in a ridiculous fashion…………..

It has become a tradition in my family to gather on Boxing Day, 26th December. This started 25 years ago when our grandchildren were babies and became tired because Christmas Day was too much for them.           Now our children visit their In-laws on the 25th and us next day.

We take it in turns to host the gathering and also take turns in making a Pinata for the young ones.  This year I had to make the Pinata, which did not last long as the children are now BIG and strong. Here is my sheep.

We also have a Swap, choosing a new theme each year.  Over the years we have made hats, walking sticks, clocks, kalidoscopes, bird houses, embroidery etc. The swap has developed from the original 6 inch potholder.

This year we drew a name from a hat and had to make a portrait of that person, who then received the result.  My offspring can all draw but I can not.  My efforts went through a range of tools.  Acrylic, water paints, crayons, oil pastels, and finally oil, which proved to be the easiest medium.  I was walking with my first canvas and tripped over, putting two holes in the fabric.  Though it was ruined it was no great loss as far as talent went, I just started again.

Here are this year’s swap items.

Andrew by Catherine.  Cath has incorporated Andrew’s creations of a pinata (green one-eyed guy), walking sticks,wooden biro cover (only part seen),musical instrument, clock and the large Judge’s chair, which he made for my sister’s 90th birthday party.

Catherine by Jenny.  Jen has captured the essence of our fun loving daughter.

Jenny by me. I hope to do another portrait of Jen but in stitches.  It is on my list of ‘to-do’ in 2011

Me by Glenda.  Glenda claims she can not draw either but I like what she has done.

Glenda by Marissa

Glenda is looking unusually serious here.

I was amazed at the exact likeness of Marissa, so much so that I forgot to look past the face to see the puppet is also a replication of my daughter.

You can see how closely Andrew captured her as she holds the portrait.

and finally a photo of our 4 daughters

Responses

  1. Love the portraits Maureen. You are such a talented bunch. Sounds like Christmas and Boxing Day were pretty amazing. We have been thinking of you all.

  2. oh my Maureen, these look amazing, as Catherine said, you have an amazingly talented family …..

    I’m going to stow away for a Christmas with you one of these days, just to experience it … hehehe

  3. Maureen
    This maureen envies you your talented family. Is Cath still felting?

    • No felting of late as she’s doing a teaching study online. No CQ either to her sorrow…one day…

  4. What a talented family you all are – all the portraits are fabulous – I particularly liked the one of you on the pinafore.

    You all look so healthy and happy.
    Happy New Year to you all.
    love
    Barbara
    x

  5. WOW those are awesome and what a talented family you all are! And lovely too!

  6. Hi Maureen, Happy New Year!! I’ve tagged you for the “Liebster Blog” award. Please visit my blog. If you like choose three your favorite blogs to continue. Thanks. Hideko

    • That is kind of you Hideko. I will visit your blog in a minute.

  7. What a wonderful time you had – I am amazed at so much talent in one family.
    Best wishes to all and lots more creative times together! Connie, x

    • I get a lot of inspiration from my fun family Connie. They only get their twisted sense of humour from me.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

In the Ever After

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

KenMaursCorner

My personal slant on my attempts at creative stitching,my garden,my feline family and the odd(very odd) comment on Life in general)

Susan Hook's embroidery and crafts

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

