Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | December 6, 2010

Weeks 39 and 40-Buttonhole Picot

I did my Buttonhole Picot sampler at the beginning of Week 39, put it aside to finish several other projects and forgot to save notes on how I did each one.

I can’t find the method for the 3rd one.

Green Edmar ‘Frost’ thread for Buttonhole Picot.

Blue cotton similar to Perle 8 ..with little twist to it.. for Buttonhole Picot with the 2 chain.  Both of these varieties were from Sharon’s blog.

I will miss the third for now…

The 3rd, 4th and 5th varieties were worked from Right to Left.

The 4th, in peach 2 ply wool, used a pin to keep the loop in place while working it.      Awkward to do but neat when done.

Called Picot-pinned /Picot-loop, it is in Mildred Graves Ryan’s Complete Encyclopaedia of Stitchcraft.  There was a 2nd version of this but I ran out of patience with pin and needle combined.

The 5th, blue Edmar Frost.  When you get to the place you need the picot you count back 4 stitches and make a bar with the thread, then buttonhole that…remembering that when you buttonhole the bar (Right to Left )it becomes larger, so a short  or firm bar is needed.

Back to the 3rd one.  I THINK it was Buttonhole Picot Ring.   Shaded Edmar Frost was easy to use here.  I can remember it was worked from Right to Left, using a pin to hold the circle open while working the buttonhole.  It was similar to the 5th variety but the placement of the needle at the end was different.

I will have to search now to find the book and instructions as it is quite pretty.

I hope I have learned now, to keep a record of the methods and stitch names as I go along.

You can see more about TAST2 here

and here for work by other members of Stitchinfingers

Leave a Reply

Categories

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

In the Ever After

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

KenMaursCorner

My personal slant on my attempts at creative stitching,my garden,my feline family and the odd(very odd) comment on Life in general)

