Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | September 1, 2010

Week 27 – Woven Trellis stitch

My all time favourite the Up and Down Buttonhole stitch has been knocked down to 2nd place.  This week’s stitch has taken over.

Quick and very easy to do.

The first effort was the yellow and it is not packed tightly.  I worked from left to right after this bloom.

The yellow base gave a centre to the flower.

With the violet I added the extra petal and again the yellow base completed the centre.

The fuchsia was worked in 3 stages.  I laid only the top two petals, then the outside pink petals and lastly the centre one.  Adding the last petal  this way gave it a lift.

When I saw the bluebells I knew they would look good on a vine.  I used perle 5 for all flowers except the vine lot – this was a looser/thicker thread and not as manageable.  I can see green detached leaves with any of these flowers.

Playing with the stitch.  I think the base could work well as a contrast pattern for the completed one.

The Woven Trellis here has been added to Week 23’s Triple chain

The colour of the thread made me think of lilliums so I left the centre flower with pistils.

Through the week I hope to play with finer threads and if I do will add them here.

for more about TAST2 go to     http://www.pintangle.com/

to see  more  of what others do with the stitch please visit

http://www.flickr.com/groups/56846286@N00/

Responses

  1. This is a very nice result. I have to give it a try. Thanks 🙂

  2. Love all of the samples Maureen :o)
    Barbara
    x

  3. You created a such a beautiful flower garden! So many ideas. I love your flowers.

  4. Thanks ladies for your comments. I hope you have tried this stitch. It is easy and fun to do.

  5. I like the texture of this stitch, your work looks beautiful!

  6. […] had stitched Woven Trellis back in 2010 and the link to this work is here and […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

In the Ever After

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

