Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | August 24, 2010

TAST2 – Week 25 van Dyke stitch

I can not believe that this was not Published last week.  It has been sitting in the Draft section.

The van Dyke stitch had me confused as it is not what I have always thought it to be.  I had thought it was multiple straight rows, stitched to form ‘V’s.

Once I double checked (sorry Sharon for doubting you) I used Perle 5 threads and tried to emulate the V formation and it turned out as scallops.  I liked them very much.

Then I tried various widths.  The left has one bar wide and below a narrower one, repeated.  I alternated the yellow line with the brown with the placement of the stitch.

The next brown was worked the same way but an extra space for the length.

The third one is the normal version and the 4th alternating colours.

On the right of the wavy lines I had thread remaining so I just used it up.

Now this is where my brain went crazy as I could see the lower samples, from left to right, as stylized upright dragons, Acrobats, a boat of rowers and a Chinese lantern.  Whoo, don’t stop there.. I see a Chinese lion too.

I really should have been in bed, because here is what happened next.

I don’t think it would scare anyone, in fact he looks scared himself.

and to show I am not always insane here is my ‘straight’ effort for the week.

a Broder cotton is used for the scallops and heart.  DMC 3 strands for the lantern.

The heart is not clear but the cable-ing is so neat and pretty.  I’ll use the van Dyke stitch more often in my work now.

for more about TAST 2 please visit

http://www.pintangle.com/

and to see what other members make with the stitch, please visit

http://www.flickr.com/groups/56846286@N00/

Responses

  1. Totally adore your vandyke dragon/lion/foo dog……..you are so totally imaginative!

  2. Imaginative? -more like Crazy, Ktj

  3. lots of good ideas here,. thank you!

  4. These Chinese motifs are stitchrd beautifully – great use of the stitch! Connie.

  5. Love, love, love the scared little dragon, he’s so sweet! Wish I had your imagination.

  6. Oh you girls are sooo good for my morale. I don’t think the stitches are particularly neat and my imagination is often weird but I DO truly thank you for the lovely comments.

    You all make me smile…

  7. Your little dragon/creature is so funny. I immediately started smiling when I saw it. Wonderful.


Leave a Reply

Categories

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

In the Ever After

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

KenMaursCorner

My personal slant on my attempts at creative stitching,my garden,my feline family and the odd(very odd) comment on Life in general)

