Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | March 6, 2010

My Step by Step block home

Here is a photo of my naked block  and another of the finished block I received home last week.

The pity is that you can’t see how rich it is with work on velvet, satin and silks.  The colours are fairly correct.

The fabrics were almost all from the girls and received by me in swap Baggies.  The laces also were from them.

The Steps for working  the blocks were

1st round To lay basic stitches

2nd round to add to these stitches

3rd round to add lace, motifs, SRE and or embroidery

4th round to bead

5th round to add buttons and finish off.
Anne started the stitched seams, Margreet added to them and also added some lace.  Margreet also added green stitching to the top right leaves which were already on the fabric.
Ati added tatting, hand painted fan, flower motifs, green tatted (by Helina) motif and Mokuba ribbon flowers and SRE roses.
The beading was done by Helina.
Quick to say, but not quick to add.

Like Lorenza, – and probably the others too-I found so many delightful things had been added  there was not much room for the last ‘buttons and finishing’.
All the same Lorenza added beautiful pink rose beads and leaves, buttons and a gold bee.

Thank you all for your wonderful work. I’d be here a week if I detailed all the wonderful things there are.    Each time I look at it I smile.  Am I happy with the block?  I most certainly am.
I would like this to be framed.

Responses

  1. Beautiful Maureen.

  2. Very beautiful Maureen, obvous why you are proud of it! Love that idea of the step by step rounds…

  3. So beautiful the seam work is so delicate and artistic. Framing this block would look great.

    • Thanks for the visit Debbie. The block, done by others, is beautiful but as yet I’ve not framed it. 😦


Leave a Reply

Categories

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

In the Ever After

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

KenMaursCorner

My personal slant on my attempts at creative stitching,my garden,my feline family and the odd(very odd) comment on Life in general)

