Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | November 19, 2009

Stitch Exploration 2009

For what it is worth, I have finished my sampler of stitches for the Stitch Exploration.

To the left of the tent is green laid work couched with gold beads.

To the right, a casalguidi tree trunk with found items of beaded lace and wired leaves.

Peeking above the leaves is herringbone built up by overlaying the previous rows and cutting through the centre, then fluffing the ends.

Below the leaves is Chicken scratch with beads.

On the right side of the path is brick and net-darning (looked a bit like a wall to me)

In the lower right I did laidwork for the pool (do not choose colours and execute at night, the blue looked much paler to me then) I also couched the feathery yarn over a trellis of herringbone for greenery around the pool.

I finished with some Fimo leaves I made a while ago.

I tried various things to fill in more of the path but they overwhelmed rather than improved.

I’m not at all sure if this complies to Sharon’s idea of stitch use but it was interesting and surely stretched me.

Thanks Sharon for the opportunity to try stitch methods that were new to me.

All that remains is to properly stretch the work and speak nicely to DH asking him to make a frame for it.

Responses

  1. It looks wonderful and will provide interest for many years to come. I think it’s a lovely way of experimenting with all the different stitches and techniques. Thank you for sharing

  2. Maureen it is a great piece. Lovely to look at, so much to see.
    Ofcourse it deserves aframe!

  3. Beautiful work! You should be so proud!

  4. Stunning Maureen. You have done beautiful work – as always.

  5. Oh, Maureen, it is simply magnificent! So many wonderful, unique ideas, so beautifully executed. I love it. It shows off both your fanciful imagination and your impeccable stitching. Echoing the comments above–stunning, beautiful, wonderful!

  6. Maureen – this is absolut beautiful – what a great work.

    • Thanks everyone for your comments. They are much appreciated.

  7. Maureen, this is the most creative sampler I have seen in a very long time. Congratulations. I LOVE it!

  8. I wanted to say this is an amazing interpretation of the stitches and styles


Leave a Reply

Categories

trishburr.wordpress.com/

Insight into my work and inspirations

Patty Anne - Art

My Watercolor Journey

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

