Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | July 16, 2009

Stitch Exploration

Sharon is back blogging again at http://www.pintangle.com/

I’ve been remiss with blogging this year but have managed to stitch my projects.  Sharon set June aside for catching up with the Exploration stitches so I re-did some of them and am trying to make a stumpwork picture with the results.

Casalguidi,Woven and AssisiMy castle has additions now.  There is a Casalguidi tree which has to have leaves added to it and a path which I hope is accepted as Assisi.  The original woven grassed area was added to with long arm cross stitches  and a feather stitch tree to point up the battlement.  I’m never sure about doing Assisi work but will try again.

Chicken Scratch and Trellis stitchI re-did the Chicken Scratch on a tent.  DH calls it a Yurt. It sits on a Trellis stitch lawn.  I’m finding out things as I go with stumpwork.  Next time I’d stitch in place a back-wall and add the tent fronts separately, although this picture doesn’t look too bad the interior tends to bulge.

Trellis and WovenMore Trellis stitching grass, Woven shrub and flowers and a Lattice woven over-skirt for milady.

July exploring is to add mixed media so I hand painted the background and added an orange to the lady.  Here is the overall picture so far.  I think I may have mis-interpreted the instructions, thinking it could be painting only so it’s just as well I intended adding texture to the trees.

Painted background

Responses

  1. I love it!! Awesome work!

  2. This piece is beautifully imagined and such a marvelous way to display your stitching! Bravo! I can’t wait to see what’s next…

  3. I can’t wait either Susan. It’ll be a surprise to me too. LOL

  4. So beautiful!
    I do admire your intricate stitching – I am such a basic stitcher! Connie.

  5. Maureen, it is so much fun to watch you creating stumpwork using stitches from your stitch exploration. Well, it’s just plain fun to see what you’re up to. I’ll be watching!

  6. Olá! Conheci o seu cantinho e é tão lindo e criativo! Amei mesmo!… Parabéns pelo seu trabalho!!! Se puder, dê uma espiadinha no meu:
    magiadaines.blogspot.com
    Beijinhos carinhosos.
    Itabira – Brasil

  7. Your work is just great, as always. I love how you put all the stitches in one piece, with is still a real project not just a sampler. This way you won’t end up with a heap of unfinished this and thats like me.

  8. Dear Maureen
    I like your work! is lovely !!!
    Hugs
    Maria del Valle

  9. Once again beautiful work Maureen, I admire you for your skills!

    Hugs, WILMA

  10. Thank you all for your kind comments. I always check out the blogs of my visitors where each of you show your own lovely needlework. I am inspired to go back often.

    Maureen

  11. If you don’t have room to hang it in your house I can always find room in mine…vbg. Love what you are doing – beautiful.


Leave a Reply

Categories

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

In the Ever After

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

KenMaursCorner

My personal slant on my attempts at creative stitching,my garden,my feline family and the odd(very odd) comment on Life in general)

