Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | March 29, 2009

March – Assisi Stitch

I have enjoyed this month’s stitch and learned by trial and error what would work.

I’ll present my failure first.   I could find little in the way of instructions or patterns so I chose a Blackwork pattern and changed it to negative, then covered fabric (not a good choice as it turned out) with Waste Canvas  and with 2 strands of DMC proceeded to stitch.  The 2 strands seemed to be sufficient to cover the holes.  I used a single strand to outline the pattern first.

The failure

The failure

It was difficult to stitch right up to the outline so I left these bits to finish at the end.  I dampened the canvas and the threads came out easily but still shifted the DMC so it didn’t lay nicely and the over all look was Yuk!

I intend this exercise to head straight for the bin but finished most of the left hand corner and overstitched the outline there too.

The fabric had slightly raised lines in it and I think this distorted the stitching too.  The thread should have been thicker and I’d never use canvas for Assisi again.  I should remember the advice to practise first.  Okay, that’s out of the way.

Then I made a freehand contemporary work using a pattern from Eileen Campbell’s Medieval applique book, which had the kookaburras on the initial.  I just added a background to this with various threads, starting at the base with DMC perle 8 and then DMC cotton in 4 strands reducing to 1 in the background.  Surprisingly it didn’t take too much time to finish. I think this leans more to Negative work rather than Contemporary Assisi but I like it.

Contemporary Assisi work

Contemporary Assisi work

I had a break from cross stitching and happened on an Assisi pattern in a 1982  Harmony Guide book and this last work is from that.

Assisi work

Assisi work

This was the most enjoyable to do, surprisingly as the fabric had such fine weaving and I didn’t think my eyes up to working on it.  I don’t know what it’s called but has a 32 count.  I used a DMC 5 perle.  Again I used one strand to outline the work but went over this later with 2 strands which made such a difference to it.

Responses

  1. Great work. I love the personality shinning out of that bird on the top branch.

  2. Even though the first bit wasn’t what you wanted I still like it. Besides if we don’t make mistakes how do we learn to do things better…..didn’t you tell me that…vbg. Love the other “bits” though. Stunning

  3. Thanks for your comments girls. I don’t think I’ve yet seen a kookaburra that looked sad – must be the twinkle in it’s eye.

  4. As I read this a kookaburra is laughing in the distance – I took it as an omen and just had to share and say I think it is a successful piece.

  5. Hello friend

    We all have a small mistake ( I have many of them dear Maureen!! a collection.. LOL!)
    The next embroidery, is very beautiful!

    Hugs
    Maria del Valle

  6. I love the kookaburra one.


Leave a Reply

Categories

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

In the Ever After

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

KenMaursCorner

My personal slant on my attempts at creative stitching,my garden,my feline family and the odd(very odd) comment on Life in general)

