Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | March 18, 2009

De-stashing again WIP

I’ve been beavering away on the quilt for my DD which was based on two different Grandma’s Album quilts.  Cath chose most of the blocks and some are my own creations.  I guess it was laid aside for years as the blocks had now become different in size to the original and also Cath liked the idea of having a black surround on each, instead of just around the house.

Last week I cut 3″ blocks and pieced them, finding that because of the size difference I had to fiddle and even cut some half blocks.  Luckily it’s not madly noticable because of the differing patches.  well that’s my version and I’m sticking to it.

After concentrating on cutting blocks and not knowing how many I’d need, I found after I’d completed the top there were ten x 3″ blocks over.  Not such a bad guesstimate.

I then added another black border around the patches and hung it over the doorways to get the photo.

I found some of my freebie curtain ends included several metres of uncut brown striped curtain which, joined, was more than wide enough for the backing.  This now lays over my craft table with the batting and quilt top, waiting to be hand quilted.  I will just do some as I feel like it as there is no rush.  The most amaaazing thing about this quilt is that it was exactly 2 metres by 1 1/2 metres and no sides uneven.   Originally it was hand-cut but I now have a rotary cutter which makes the job so much easier.  It may look wonky on the sides but it is held by 3 dressmaker pins at the door tops.

Here it is so far – without the black border.

Catherine's quilt

Catherine's quilt

I’m happy to say that my sane fabric box will now close without straining the lid and my backing fabrics are also being lowered.

Responses

  1. Love the quilt Maureen. Maybe I should take lessons from you on how to get my quilts even on all sides. Love the little blocks too – they really set off the main blocks.

  2. Maureen it is a very special quilt and your daughter will love it forever because it is made with love! I like the way the large blocks stands out between the little squares. It seems they are floating on the background.

  3. Splendid!

  4. Thanks girls for the nice back-up.

    Catherine I did say it was Amaaaazing the quilt worked out squarely and I assure you it was a fluke.

  5. That is beautiful Maureen. Your daugther is lucky – to have you as her Mom.

  6. Love this quilt Maureen.
    The different size blocks work well with the little squares…
    Julia ♥


Leave a Reply

Categories

trishburr.wordpress.com/

Insight into my work and inspirations

Patty Anne - Art

My Watercolor Journey

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

