Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | March 9, 2009

De-stashing

With less projects at the moment I’ve had time to de-stash the craftroom.

I made one quilt and found another partly done about 12 years or more ago.  It was not nice and probably the reason it became a UFO so I pulled it apart, re-cut and completed it.  Both quilts have been machined only.

I am not a sane quilter as I get annoyed by uneven corners and Much prefer the CQ work where there are no rules.  I have found that a rotary cutter is a great advantage to neater work and doing these quilts was a lot easier than previously.

I have another ancient UFO Grandma’s Album where I have the blocks done and need to work out some sashing for it.   This was hand cut and I am hoping it will behave itself when I start putting it together.  I can’t make up my mind whether to do this one or de-stash the bulk fabric on the shelf.  Decisions, decisions.

The first quilt from new curtain remnants and backed with woolen fabric – also from the stash.

First quilt

First quilt

Quilt 2

Quilt 2

I needed to purchase fabric for the backing on this one…so much for de-stashing.

Responses

  1. And you say you’re not a sane quilter – these are stunning Maureen. Ohh and buying fabric for the backing is allowed under de stashing rules – otherwise the quilt top would go back into the ufo pile again. Have you thought about peiceing the back out of leftovers in the stash pile? There are no rules that I know of that say the back has to be all the same fabric or colour….well if there is I have ignored it all these years.

  2. What beautiful quilts, love the second one

  3. Very satisfying, yes?

  4. Both of these are beautiful. What is the pattern for the second one? Is it easy to do, for me, I mean?

  5. Helina if I can do it ANYONE can.


Leave a Reply

Categories

trishburr.wordpress.com/

Insight into my work and inspirations

Patty Anne - Art

My Watercolor Journey

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

