Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | March 5, 2009

Trellis stitch success

Thank you all for your input on my Trellis stitching, it’s great to know there is always help available.

Sharon you were correct that I was not using the right stitch.  It was indeed a buttonhole I did.

Ruth I went back to review Jeanne’s photos and realized I was looping the thread around the needle the wrong way causing a buttonhole effect.

I immediately got the spiraling but now need to practise more for tension as I’m still not happy with the look – not smooth enough.

I found any twisted rayon works better for me and the plain threads must be spiraling but to me just look knotty.

Miriam I wish that all Stitchers lived close enough to share highs and lows.   In the stumpwork book I have it shows the flat version being worked only from the left to right and that may help you.  Just draw the thread underneath from right to left and start again.   I liked Mary’s description of a ‘c’ and a ‘g’ for wrapping….pity I mixed them up doing the spiral one.  With new glasses I have no excuse.

Well here are the latest samples

Responses

  1. EVen your “failures” look great to me. You were struggling with twisted trellis, while I have not yet mastered the basic trellis stitch. I love the examples of your “success with the twist” as well as the shisha. Well done, Maureen!

  2. Great to hear you got it sorted. I wonder how many others made the same mistake – easy to do

  3. This looks much better! In the meantime I have managed to master the flat version. I was making the stitches too tight. Thanks for your advice.

  4. Glad to see you got it twisting,

    regards, RuthP


Leave a Reply

Categories

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

In the Ever After

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

KenMaursCorner

My personal slant on my attempts at creative stitching,my garden,my feline family and the odd(very odd) comment on Life in general)

