Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | February 28, 2009

Wagga

Last year Melody invited several Aussie ladies to make a few projects for two books she was preparing for publication.  I was asked to make a teapot cover and a Wagga.

A Wagga, (a perfect description here) was originally a quilt made from flour bags by itinerant working men in the outback or farms.  Mine was to be in recycled pin-striped suiting,  embellished with only stitch type and one colour thread.

Never try unpicking black threads from a black garment at night.  It’s a great way to lose your sanity.

Completing quilts is not my thing – I love the handwork only – but after a lot of head scratching I finally came up with this design.

The stitch I chose was Barred Herringbone.  I felt daunted by how much had to be repeated but found it surprisingly relaxing to do.  I used DMC Madeira wool.

Here’s the teapot cover that is in the book.   It had to be 10″ in size  and in  certain colours. I made a foam stamp of diamonds and printed my own pattern onto the cloth.  I mailed off the cosy before I added the little motifs I had dyed, so here’s the updated version of the cover.

I received two complimentary books  each having a project of mine included.   These were from Country Bumpkin Publications.

Tea Cosy

The Wagga and complimentary books

recycled-Wagga

Responses

  1. That wagga is so fun, cozy, and delightful! And to be published too! Well, a big congratulations to you!!!!

  2. Thanks Susan.

  3. “Never try unpicking black threads from a black garment at night. It’s a great way to lose your sanity.”

    Hahahaha … OMG … I L’dOL when I read this … envisioning trying to do this!


Leave a Reply

Categories

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

In the Ever After

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

KenMaursCorner

My personal slant on my attempts at creative stitching,my garden,my feline family and the odd(very odd) comment on Life in general)

