Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | February 27, 2009

CQAW DYB

Late last year the Crazy Quilters Around the World ran a Doing Your Block-DYB -with 6 members choosing their own theme.   Wilma chose the theme, Under the Sea.

Seams were to be tone on tone and some colour could be added away from the seams.  It was very enjoyable to work the seascape.

This is the 5th and last block in the round.

Wilmas Under the Sea

I cut ribbon and fused it to make the larger fish, did some Double Cast-ons around the dolphin and some Woven Spider stitched pony beads for sea urchins.  On the bottom left is a beautiful Oya from Rengin which also looks like a sea urchin.

Here are Ati’s and Margreet’s garden

Margreet's blockI had a small amount of Merino wool on netting which I used for the tree top.  I’m almost out of this great fabric and will have to try to make some myself.  The flowers below the tree are drawn up silk floss.

Margreet’s blocks were lovely enough to stand alone with nary a stitch on them.    Each had a red flower somewhere and mine is felt padded with Satin stitch over the top.    The crochet is not mine.

Ati's garden block

Ati's garden block

Ati’s was another fun one to do.  I hadn’t made dragonflies for a while.

Hideko’s and Helina’s blocks were in an earlier post for the CQAW.

Responses

  1. Maureen these are absolutely stunning. Beautiful work as always.

  2. Maureen how beautiful all the blocks are you have done !!
    I LOVE, love my block with the snail !! ,spider,dragonfly and your sublime embroidery. Thank you, thank you! ((Big hug))

  3. What more can I say, except to let you know that I, too, appreciate these beautiful blocks. Such splendid stitching, so many good ideas, such lovely details to dwell on.

  4. What beautiful blocks, they each have so many gorgeous details

  5. Thank you all for your kind comments. I appreciate them.


Leave a Reply

Categories

trishburr.wordpress.com/

Insight into my work and inspirations

Patty Anne - Art

My Watercolor Journey

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

