Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | February 9, 2009

Seams Only RR

In an Australian Group I am in, it is often said we tend to do our favourite seams over and over, so we decided to do a Round Robin and  seams using only threads , and along with well known stitches, try to introduce lesser known ones.

I’ve sometimes wished to make a quilt with no buttons or beads, lovely as they are, as they are not always practical for laundering or resting on.  I’d kill anyone who damaged some of the beautiful blocks I have received.  How many wall-hangings can you use?  Wall-hangings were quite useful when draughty castles were about.

So 7 women have made a block with a 12 inch working area and laid their own Foundation stitches before mailing onward.

The next two rounds will have 2 girls each adding stitches to half the seams on the block.

The 3rd and 4th rounds will have another 2 girls each adding again,to half the seams

The last two girls will add, not stitches but hand embroidered floral motifs between the seams.  No purchased motifs at all.

With Sharon’s kind permission we can use her Challenges for inspiration and the Dictionary for learning new stitches.

I’ve heard it said that Step by Step work is a little hard, due to not being able to finish seams yourself.  I’m about to find out.

Here is my block

foundation-block

and this is Ann Maree’s block that I have worked on.

Ann Maree's block

And some close-upsseam 1

I added Fly and Straight stitches to the groups of 3 Straight stitches and below that Half Button-hole wheels.

seam 2

Detached Up and Down Buttonhole to the metallic Feather Stitch

seam-3

A second row of Chevron

seam-4

I Laced the Cretan stitches

seam-5

Brick stitch added to the gold Single Feather stitch

seams-6-and-7

Two seam treatments here –Basque stitches  are added to the fine metallic Sheaf stitches   and to the second one  I added Fly stitches to metallic Straight stitches.

whipped-seam-8

Lastly I Whipped the Blanket stitches and added Couched floss with French Knots.

Responses

  1. very lovely.

  2. What a lovely way to record seams and keepsakes of friend’s work! Connie..

  3. I love what you have done Maureen.
    It is surprising how it changes the look. Great to see the close ups.
    Joy……

  4. That is a very interesting idea. I like it!!!

  5. Ah, I see you are well underway. Maybe this “game” draws out creativity. And it must be fun.

  6. This is a great exercise for a RR – way to go girls! I love seeing the combination ones especially the cretan with woven ribbon – LOVELY!!! I’m going to have to start to experiment with my embroidery too! Thanks for sharing

  7. Hmmm! My creative juices are stirring again at viewing the above seam treatments.

    I loved them M3

    emmtoo


Leave a Reply

Categories

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

In the Ever After

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

KenMaursCorner

My personal slant on my attempts at creative stitching,my garden,my feline family and the odd(very odd) comment on Life in general)

