Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | January 6, 2009

De-stashing in 2008

Well my good intention of de-stashing in 2008 crashed!  There were some worthwhile things I converted from the fabrics but I managed to collect much more than convert.

At present my craft table holds a box of lovely free fabrics from a curtain shop -most are remnants I can use in CQ and quilts but there are some big pieces that I can back the quilts with.  I received a gift of Homespun magazines from my DD and these have some nice quilts shown.  Guess I have no excuse for being idle during my free time…Free time??????

I received a further 6 large bags of CQ fabrics, a few threads, lace and beads from an Ex-CQer and these have been placed in more plastic containers.  I am trying to keep things  tidy even if the stash is truly over-the-top.  I couldn’t say no to beads that were on special either.

When I started 12 months ago to clear the craft room, I thought how good it was to be able to see things at a glance.  Ho, ho, ho, I didn’t take into account the clear boxes were 3 deep on the shelf and I had to keep shuffling them about.

I was very pleased to exchange those disintegrating re-cycle plastic bags, that held the many fabrics, for clear containers.  It looked like a snowstorm when I removed the fabric.

I had to quit pulling out my hair as there’s not that much left these days. I almost went nuts trying to remember where the ‘new homes’ were for stash I had been able to lay my hands on instantly, messy though it was.

Obviously a routine takes over as I have no bother anymore, so I guess afterall I can thank you Sharon for the push to clean up.  I’ll try harder this year.

Responses

  1. What you have more stash….vbg. I can just see you pulling your hair out trying to decide where it’s all to go and Graeme pulling out the carpentry tools to make you so new shelves……wicked grin. Should I send you some more stash I wonder or am I likely to have something thrown at me….wicked grin. Have fun playing with it all.

  2. I am for sure when you trow things away you will miss the next month!
    So, don’t do that, we can use it all, can’t we ;-))

  3. Catherine I can’t see Graeme making more shelves so I’ll have to down-size instead…. or send some to Ati. :-)))

  4. Just a quick note to let you know I’ve been here.

    I’m not blogging or reading blogs much these days, as I’m studying physics. I miss stitching, though.

    We’ve had the most amazing, emotional Inauguration of our history. I watched and wept for two days. It was very moving, watching it with my two elderly African-American friends. To think what 99-year-old Esther has lived through, where she started–in the deep South. Taught in a one-room school with wood- stove and outhouse. She earned a Master’s degree as one of the first blacks admitted to U. MD. Her daugher went to Smith (an exclusive women’s college) and then earned a Master’s degree and worked all over the world in the Foreign Service. Her granddaughter-in-law teaches French at Bryn Mawr, one of the most prestigious private schools in Baltimore, and her grandson has a good job in IT. What a trajectory over her lifetime.

    I’m always happy to see your work. How about showing is your organized work space?


Leave a Reply

Categories

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

In the Ever After

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

