Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | October 16, 2008

A surprise in the mail

I received an amazing surprise in today’s mail.  A beautiful, finished Crazy Quilted Block from friends overseas.

Last July Graeme and I had intended travelling to Norway for a Gathering of friends from the Crazy Quilters Around the World.  The DHs were attending also.  Unfortunately we were unable to go ahead with our plans but these lovely ladies kept me up to date with photos and news of their week together.

This block is about 19″ or 20″ square and has an amazing amount of eye candy.  The block has travelled through Norway, 2 homes in The Nederlands, Italy, France and Finland.

Ati made the block and added some stitches, lace and trims on several seams.

Margreet added more seam treatments and particularly pointed my eyes towards all the ‘M’s ( my initial) in the centre part.

Wilma added even more work to existing seams, using lots of variegated threads and extended the ‘M’s in another colour.

Lorenza added motifs and embroidered roses in SRE and beaded her butterfly

Anne said she was in charge of the bead and sequin touch and there is much to see.  I immediately recognized Anne’s pink French Knots, at which she is an expert.

and lastly Helina added buttons and border to this Oh-So-Beautiful artwork.

and now the photos so you can see for yourself how lovely it is.

I feel it is not enough just to say thank you for this wonderful gift as I know these girls have a busy life other than just stitching, but I will treasure it all the more.

Maureen

Responses

  1. Ohh they are absolutely stunning. Aren’t you lucky.


Leave a Reply

Categories

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

In the Ever After

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

