Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | March 7, 2008

de-stashing again

My inherited computer chair was sadly coming adrift as you see here
copy-of-p2240046.jpg
so I found some good fabric and set about re-covering it. Now I have recovered chairs and settees before this but never where it included foam backing sewn to the material. I thought about cheating and just making a slip cover but decided to bite the bullet and go for the right way.
I am pleased I did as it turned out very well, although I would never have been able to put it on the chair without the strength of my DH who, strong and all as he is, had a struggle.
I was so happy with the appearance of the chair that I decided to use the last of the fabric and re-cover Graeme’s chair too. I added an extra thick foam padding to the seat and it was easy to make. We now have two comfortable chairs to relax in. Mine is so comfy I could easily fall asleep in it.
Without more ado, here are the chairs.
 copy-of-p3070066.jpg
I can admit to removing quite a bit of fabric from the stash  🙂
Responses

  1. Maureen !! you are fabulous !! covering chairs, how clever. They look really pretty now.

  2. good changes!

  3. What a fabulous make over and stash busting project to boot – great stuff!

  4. These look fantastic. You have inspired me to cover the chairs in my sewing room. Thanks!

  5. What a fantastic job you did with these. I just purchased a book entitled The Complete Photo Guide to Slipcovers, hopefully this will help me cover some chairs and ottomans that are in desperate need of a makeover 🙂

  6. Wow Maureen!
    Great job…..love the colours!
    Maureen


Leave a Reply

Categories

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

In the Ever After

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

