Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | December 30, 2007

TAST WEEKS 51 Chained Bar AND 52 Spanish Feather

A little concentration for both these stitches was required to start but then they were a pleasure to do. The Chained Bar was worked with two cotton threads together, over an existing fly stitch in silk floss. At the bottom right you can see the floss uncovered.
copy-of-pc300064.jpg
I also used bars of white candlewick cotton and in between, still using the white bars I worked first the blue angora type wool. Half way along I realized I wouldn’t have enough thread to finish so I tapered the stitches and am very pleased with the result.
The variegated Perle shows promise with the staggered stitches making a curved effect.
copy-of-pc300062.jpg
copy-of-pc300061.jpg
My final stitch for the year is Spanish Feather, using the doubled cotton threads. I found it slightly awkward to manage but after a few practise shots I was happy to know I’ll use this again.
Many thanks Sharon, for a great learning year. I appreciate the time and effort you have put into this challenge, it can not have been easy.
Thanks too, to the visitors who left lovely comments and support. I appreciate this and it led me to see your own works, which were delightful.
I wish everyone in TAST a healthy and happy New Year, cheers Maureen
Responses

  1. I like the way you varied the size and spacing of the chained bar stitch in the first sample. They’re all very interesting experiments.

  2. I most especially like the one you staggered so that it looks curvy. That’s unique. I still have to try the Spanish Feather – it looks interesting everywhere I see it.

  3. Hi Maureen, sending this comment to let you know that I have tagged you on my blog for a Make My Day Award..Hugs annie

  4. Hey Maureen, I just had to tag you with the “Blogs That Make My Day Award” ’cause your blog truly makes my day. Directions on what to do can be found on my blog.
    http://normasneedlez.blogspot.com


Leave a Reply

Categories

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

In the Ever After

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

KenMaursCorner

My personal slant on my attempts at creative stitching,my garden,my feline family and the odd(very odd) comment on Life in general)

