Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | November 28, 2007

TAST Week 48 Knotted Cable Chain

This stitch is a winner as far as being worked.

I had a CQ block with heavy lace in the centre which suggested a partial

Paisley design. I used Excel knitted metallic thread and a very large needle. The fibre went through very well for most of the work but started unravelling toward the end. I saved this bit.

I was so pleased with the outcome. I then added a flower and with Edmar Lola white thread did a few more of the KCCs above. Lastly with the saved metallic thread I used it double and worked more KCCs as the white thread blended into the background too well. At no time was the thread stressed, even though it was stretchy and fine. Oh I used a finer needle for the Edmar and last lot.

copy-of-pb280162.jpg

Next I used 3 strands of DMC Mouline variegated thread and made a butterfly. The body is chenille – one large cable and one smaller. The antenna is done with one strand of the DMC. Even the chenille with the large needle worked so easily through the cloth and sat well. I can see uses for this stitch- for spiders and beetles etc., I will have to experiment more.

copy-of-pb280161.jpg

This is the first time I have worked a loopy stitch that didn’t roll over and it must be because of the 5th movement, going through the cloth, holds it in place.

I like it!

Responses

  1. I love the gold paisley. It really is the perfect use of the stitch. The flower is excellent as well. Can’t wait to see the whole block.

  2. Margaret the flower is a bought one – better than I can make in this style. LOL

  3. Lovely, lovely. The stitch is a winner and your paisley is a winner, too. Good Job!

  4. Your paisley is wonderful Maureen. It is a nice stitch , isn’t it? I liked it too.

  5. This is great looking, of course i love the paisely shape and what you did with the stitch using the gold…you are sucha good stitcher!
    ktj

  6. Maureen, you always amaze me. I love what you’ve done with this stitch. Are you going to take up Sharon’s challenge for 2008?

  7. Yes Norma, I’d like to do the new Challenge. I think I have my name down.

    Thanks girls for the comments, I really appreciate them.

    Maureen

  8. I just found your website through Sharon B. The ornament you made for her are lovely. The shape is fantastic. Do you have a pattern for them?

  9. Hello Amy, I used a pattern from a magazine called ‘Embroidery and Cross stitch’ Vol.12 No 5 and published by Express Publications. It is sold in NZ,US,Canada and Au but is now two years old. As this mag is copyrighted I can’t pass on the pattern.
    If you are keen then perhaps the publisher may still have back copies.
    I am sorry I can’t be of further help.
    Maureen

  10. […] I have some examples from Tast 1   here    and variations fom Tast 1- week 48, which was Knotted Cable chain  here […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

trishburr.wordpress.com/

Insight into my work and inspirations

Patty Anne - Art

My Watercolor Journey

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

