Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | June 22, 2007

TAST Week 25 Long and Short Stitch

copy-2-of-p6220055.jpg

Long and short stitch is not my favourite for embroidery as I have much difficulty keeping the curves right and the stitches laying nicely next to each other.  While the overall effect might be okay, I KNOW I have not done it correctly and in the past I have been guilty of doing stem stitch instead to fill in my work.

This week because it is a challenge offered I have taken much time to do my best and here are my offerings.

copy-of-p6220054.jpg

My Koi you can see is rough skinned and looks quite nasty so beware and don’t pick at his looks. LOL

copy-of-p6220051.jpg

I am very pleased with the flower and leaves as they behaved well and I put this down to using a fine wool, which seems to suit the stitch.  I find threads too thin and they leave gaps in the work so I have to go back and fill in.

Responses

  1. Maureen your TAST is beautiful, I love the flower!
    You are complaining about nothing ;))

  2. I especially like the goldfish. I am finding long nadf short stitch argH!! too.

  3. Beautiful work! Especially the fish 🙂

  4. Really lovely Maureen, the Koi is different and you certainly captured the fish in reality. LOve the top design and the bottom flower too.

  5. love the fish!
    i think the effort 🙂 paid off

    neki desu

  6. great work Maureen!
    he does look like an angry fish!…love the flower

  7. What beautiful stitching and I love the first one.

  8. beautiful stitching!

  9. Those have come out lovely, but you’re right about your fish – he looks MEAN!=)

  10. wowee! Maureen, the secret to using one strand of floss is to use ONE strand and the thinnest needle you can find….with the smallest eye that you can put the thread through…..

    these three motifs look fabulous! the koi is not nasty, the leaf and sqaure is just delightful and the flower and leaves are superb…so will you PUH-LEEEEEEEEEEEEZE recognize how good you are………….gggggg

  11. Hey Maureen I needed the instructions for this l n s stitch and your TAST came up. THANK YOU for blogging it and hopefully I can do my embroidery on my block tonight now.


Leave a Reply

Categories

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

In the Ever After

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

KenMaursCorner

My personal slant on my attempts at creative stitching,my garden,my feline family and the odd(very odd) comment on Life in general)

