Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | April 26, 2007

Our lake and ocean

These are pictures taken last week of our Lake Victoria. There are a series of connected lakes that go for many miles to Lakes Entrance, which is where many professional fishing vessels are moored.
The first is our local beach and shows the left side to the marina and hotel. The second is across the lake and is too misty to see the mountains in the background. They don’t look high, even when they are clearly seen, but they are when you drive through them.
The third picture is looking to the right and shows the wooden groins that were placed there to help stop erosion from the current. Every few years the dredge comes and clears the channel and pumps sand onto the beach. This then covers all the wooden structures. … and the grass

The two photos below are at our surf beach and part of the Ninety Mile Beach. The ocean here is called Bass Strait. Tasmania is south of this.
The strange thing about our ‘Ninety Mile Beach’ is that there seems to be one in every part of Australia.


Responses

  1. Beautiful photos Maureen. I used to go for holidays as a child to Lakes Entrance, lots of fond memories. I noticed too, it’s nearly your blog’s one year birthday, next month! Gosh, it seems like yesterday this blog was created, where has the time gone? hugs

  2. Ummmm, actually Maureen, 90 Mile Beach is here in New Zealand!!! I wonder what unimaginative, intrepid explorer managed to get around both islanda and name every beach the same ! LOL
    ps our 90 mile beach is not….90 miles that is !?


Leave a Reply

Categories

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

In the Ever After

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

