Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | March 8, 2007

TAST Barred Chain week 10

This week’s stitch was a challenge that almost ended in the bin before I had done the first stitch.
I couldn’t see how/where the bar was made. A brilliant idea had me looking in Sharon’s marvellous Stitch Dictionary and found the stitch there. It’s one I have never seen before. My first effort was to lay various thicknesses of threads like a tartan- of sorts. I found that if I worked from left to right I could see the bars, but when I reversed this the bars were covered and lost.


The stitch was good for petals, especially the top turn.

I wondered how the half circle would look in a diamond shape. It’s below.


You can see that I have made a Puurfect diamond shape. If you can’t then you may need to cross your eyes. Should that fail try squinting.

Responses

  1. love the diamond.
    i didn’t get the stitch down no matter how much i tried so reinvented it.
    Congratulations

    neki desu

  2. I think the diamond is a great idea! And very well done!

  3. Maureen, you are so creative with this stitch. I really enjoyed learning this one.

  4. Some interesting stitches there! I didn’t join the challenge as I’d never manage to keep up with it!!

    Oh, just a thought that might help (if you’re bothered, of course): When you’ve uploaded your photos, for some reason, Blogger adds in all manner of spaces, which you can then delete and remove all the parge gaps between parts of the post. If you like it like that though, just ignore this bit!!!

    I had a finish recently, YIPPEE!

  5. […] 2007 Tast 1 […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

In the Ever After

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

