Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | February 22, 2007

TAST Fly Stitch

Last night I started to work on this week’s challenge, a little after 9pm and as I wasn’t tired, kept working until I finished the whole piece, at 3.05am. LOL I didn’t even sleep-in this morning.

There are four pictures, the last being the whole view.


I once saw work done entirely with one only stitch. These works were in the UK mag, Stitch with the Embroiderer’s Guild. Ever since then I have wanted to try, but never made time. Sharon’s TAST was the perfect reason to start.


I forgot to add some brown beads to represent the conifer cones. Some flowers are perfect for fly-stitch.
I certainly need more practise with my rocks in the garden part.


The background material was a left-over mistake from my Insect Project and was very handy for this one.

There are only 3 stitches not Fly stitch and they are at the top of each cerise flower stem.

For closer detail, click on the picture.

Responses

  1. What lovely work.

  2. Maureen it is amazing that you have made it with one stitch. I never had an idea that it should work. Well done. So inspiering.

  3. Great work with the fly stitch.
    You have a goreous scene with the humble fly stitch…

  4. Maureen, what a lovely landscape did you make, and that only with 1 stitch, think it’s amazing! Did you paint the background fabric before you started stitching?

  5. Your TAST’s are beautiful! I love your picture

  6. Maureen, such gorgeous trees with the Fly Stitch……….. unbelievable!

  7. Beautiful Maureen-= I must join in the TAST stitchingclass- when though- time is in short supply – oh dear but this is perfection!
    love n hugs bear xoxoxoxoxoxox

  8. […] I forgot about my earlier Fly example, which is here […]

  9. Lovely delicate scene. The trees are just perfect.

  10. Thanks again Diane

  11. Maureen, it’s so beautiful! you are a painter!
    Masha

  12. Thank you Masha.

  13. They are all so lovely Maureen – what a super picture you’ve created with fly stitch 🙂
    Barbara
    x

  14. Thanks Barbara. It remains a large UFO.

  15. I love this picture made with fly stitches. Really nicely done.

    FlowerLady

  16. This is beautiful. Very creative and talented work!

    socialsue

  17. Thank you FlowerLady and Susan. This was such a fun project.


Leave a Reply

Categories

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

In the Ever After

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

