Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | January 10, 2007

Herringbone TAST and Self Portrait

I tried the herringbone with various threads in the first picture.
Chenille, beads, Edmar boucle, a funny thread with tiny pom pons is the closest I can describe it.
Rayon ribbon in two widths, silver cord and lastly, a tatting thread.

Edmar Lola is used for the twisted herringbone and Frost for greenery, with sequin flowers.

More Lola for the 2nd embroidery and the bullions are made with Minnimurra variegated thread.


Just trying some different stitches with the herringbone

and below is my self-portrait.


just me.

Boucle for the hair; the face is a millefiori by my youngest DD. All else is herringbone.

Responses

  1. Those stitches are so pretty! Okay, “heringbone”…. I need to tray that, too!

  2. You are too funny Maureen! I love your self-portrait…but it doesn’t look anything like you. It was so nice to see the picture of you and Julia on her blog.

    Your herringbone stitching is so inventive. I really need to be practicing too.

    Hugs
    Iris Susan

  3. Your stitching is just beautiful. Such a talent you have, awe. I really like the face, too 🙂

  4. Your Herringbone stitches look great, especially with all the different threads and I love your selfportrait…..LOL

  5. You are such a humorous person, I can see it on the “face” ;-))
    Your stitching is beautiful as always.

  6. Too cute Maureen, love the face.
    Great stitching, with different threads..

  7. Love your creative stitching, Maureen. The colors in the flowers you did with Lola are outstanding, as are the stitches!

  8. It is very encouraging to have such nice comments about my stitches. Thank you.

  9. […] is a link to my TAST 1 Herringbone.  from […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

In the Ever After

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

