Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | January 7, 2007

Take a Stitch Tuesday- Herringbone


I started out experimenting with the herringbone to make a tree. I made 3 rows in cotton 8 perle for the trunk and also the branches. Then I overworked the trunk with chenille a couple of times and a last row of the green thread again. The star shape uses wool, 2 ply DMC white and metallic/cotton thread.

My ‘sane’ seam using dyed silk thread with variegated DMC in between. Maybe I’ll add delica beads, to liven it up.

Responses

  1. All of these are wondrful…i love the tree to tell the truth….i think it works wonderfully..how many times do we see folioge indicated byt not fully delineated…we know what it is….and it needs to be something indicated in a bigger piece, but it;s sometimes so hard to know exactly how….this is a wonderful way to do it!

    The star is very imaginiative, I would not have thought to do it that way! and of course your seam is lovely, very sweet colors together…all in all, Maureen, wonderfull wonderfull stuff!

    ktj

  2. These are wonderful, and I spy a bit of twisted herringbone over there next to the tree, too! I love the tree.

  3. Very nice Maureen, I never came to the idea to make a tree with the herringbone stitch, you did and it turned out pretty well. “See” you next week.

  4. Wow! I need to come back….
    Right now I am up to something else…

    You have been tagged…….and now you have to visit my blog…..
    Have a nice day!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

In the Ever After

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

KenMaursCorner

My personal slant on my attempts at creative stitching,my garden,my feline family and the odd(very odd) comment on Life in general)

Susan Hook's embroidery and crafts

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

