Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | October 16, 2006

Tea Time Block from Ati

My Tea Time Treats Block arrived today, from Ati in The Nederlands.

Ati sent the recipe for a Dutch Apple Cake and it looked so good I made it for tea tonight. There is some left over for afternoon tea tomorrow. LOL
I might even freeze some. DH and I can assure you that it tastes good.
In case anyone would like to try it, here’s the recipe

360g self-raising flour
180g sugar
210g butter
1 egg beaten
a pinch of salt
……
1 kilogram of apples
50g raisins
cinnamon – to suit
sugar – to suit
custard-powder
…….
Make a dough from the flour, sugar, butter and half the beaten egg
Make a bottom in the form( 10″ tin) and a wall about 2″ high
Keep some of the dough for the top latticing.
….
Peel and chop the apples, dress sugar, cinnamon and 1 tablespoon custard powder and the raisins in it. Mix well
Put the filling in the form
Make a pattern of strips from the rest of the dough. Brush the rest of the egg over the stripes of the dough.

Bake about 1 hour and 15 minutes at 175 oC (approx 340 oF)

Responses

  1. Maureen, it does look yummy!!!! And I do so enjoy apple based cakes, especially this time of the year. Snuggle up under a handmade quilt with a good book, a slice of cake and a hot cup of tea……

  2. Maureen the cake looks very good. I am happy you like it. You can freeze it as well and have allways something delicious for unexpected guests.
    I have made it often for the sunday’s when my children were still at home.

  3. Delicious, I cannot wait to bake this myself. Too hot at the moment though .. can you send me some Maureen in the mail? LOL

  4. Yummm!
    will have to try this for my lady friends..

  5. This recipe looks wonderful, the photo looks yummy. Why wasn’t I invited? Oh yeah, you didn’t know me then…and I am half a globe away. Speaking of which, I have software that will convert the metric measurements for me, but what is custard-powder?

    Dianna


Leave a Reply

Categories

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

In the Ever After

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

