Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | November 3, 2012

TAST 3, Week 44- Woven Picot

I found I was much neater this time around but still feel I could improve.

So I played about and made 3 beetles.

If only I could take clearer photos.  They look fine while editing but are fuzzy when posted.  Maybe they will be better when enlarged.

I used 6 black DMC strands for the large beetle and made straight stitches across and for the thorax with metallic woven thread and tan silk/rayon hand dyed thread for legs and head.

The bodies for both lower beetles is fawn DMC, again with 6 threads.  The centre beetle wings were made with 3 strands of DMC variegated metallic.

It was fun to make these.  I intended making a dragonfly but we have visitors for the long weekend and needles and threads are packed away.

Perhaps someone else will try the dragonfly.

For full details of Sharon’s 2013 TAST please visit Pintangle

There will be more time to work stitches rather than weekly.

Oops, I forgot the legs on the centre beetle. No wonder it looked funny.

Responses

  1. Don’t worry, the photos don’t look too bad.=) I usually shrink mine somewhat before posting them. I have my camera set at 3 mega-pixels (about A4 size), but almost always shrink to 40% before saving ready for blog upload. It might help.=)

    • Thank you Elizabeth for the camera tip. I am not clued up with cameras so will ask the family to assist.
      Thank you for the visit.

  2. Love the bugs – now I wouldn’t say that if they were crawling towards me.

  3. Perfect stitch for little insects! I never would have thought of this. Thanks for sharing.

  4. The insects are such a great use for this stitch… I’m not crazy about it for leaves when I tried, but it does make great petals for small daffodils.

  5. Maureen, the way you have interpreted this stitch is wonderful and it lends itself to the little insects so beautifully…love them all :)
    x

  6. Your beetles look OK, especially the last one. The legs are perfect.

  7. Of all the TAST stitches we have learned so far I think this Picot has stimulated our creativity the most. SO many different things have been depicted.
    I was therefore not at all surprised to see your work, Maureen. You are always good at thinking up fantastic things and here are these wonderful insects. A dragonfly would be great, too.
    I also love the first three Picots with sequins and beads. Surely they are glistening bugs, too.

  8. These beetles are adorable. Isnt it amazing that there are so many ways to use these stitches. Your work is very inspiring.

  9. The idea you put for this stitch is great!!!! love the bugs!!! perfect stitching!!!!

  10. your insects are wonderful, what a good idea!

  11. Great idea of using the stitch for bugs..perfectly suits..love the last bug very much..

  12. I love seeing the different ways that everyone uses the stitch and the beetles are a great idea. They look really good.

  13. What a great stitch to use for stitching beetles! They turned out great!

  14. great work. they are needle woven picot bugs and not leaves. lovely!
    thanks for your comments on my post.

  15. Great stitch for the wings! I wouldn’t have thought of it. Leaves come to mind so easily.

  16. fabulous flying insects!

  17. Love those beetles!

  18. Thank you Everyone for your very kind comments. It is so encouraging
    Maureen

  19. your beetles are so cute !

    • Thank you Isabelle

  20. tes insectes sont de véritables oeuvre d’art


Leave a Reply

Categories

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

emmelinesplace

I love to create, often I create a mess. Occasionally I create something useful. On rare occasions I get really excited.I love old buildings, especially ruins and when I remember to take my camera, I share photos

In the Ever After

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

KenMaursCorner

My personal slant on my attempts at creative stitching,my garden,my feline family and the odd(very odd) comment on Life in general)

Susan Hook's embroidery and crafts

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

stitches and Life

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

AlarTTex

Nuestro Taller / Notre Atelier / Our Atelier

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers

