Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | April 18, 2012

Chikan embroidery re-done

I really was not happy about my stitches and Anita kindly helped me correct my errors.

The first was entirely due to my bad stitching and not the number of strands I used.  I hadn’t used 6 ply here but 2 ply and I was just clumsy with the needle and thread.

For the leaves on the vines I used the full 6 strands of DMC but Did Not separate and replace as one.  What a huge difference that made.

Even so, I took forever to carefully stitch the patterns.  Whoever coined the phrase ‘ Necessity is the Mother of Invention’ is surely right.  I cut a small card and used

that to place on the fabric as I drew the thread up and down through the fabric.  How much neater it is and so much faster… if you can call 25 minutes for 7 leaves fast.

Unpicked and redone and I am much happier.  The top petal isn’t twisted, it’s just a photographic error. ( that’s my story)

the ‘card trick’ is on the right hand side.  Thanks for your timely help Anita.

Responses

  1. It’s so very beautiful Maureen – love it :)
    x

    • Thank you Barbara, I’m happy you like it.

  2. It’s come out so well Maureen.Laying tool /card always helps us to get the stitch flat,isn’t it? I use it when I stitch with flat threads.

    • Anita I agree the card made it much easier. If the threads were slightly crossed I rolled the card, which was similar to combing the thread.

  3. I am glad to know about seperating the 6 strands. I need to work on those stitches next. Good that you showed the laying tool as that is something I need to add as well.
    Deb

    • Hi Deb, I normally separate all threads but goofed with the 6 this time as they looked so neat straight from the hank. A lesson learned.

  4. It’s looking really nice. I still have to do my leaves and I’m glad to know how you did yours.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

emmelinesplace

I love to create, often I create a mess. Occasionally I create something useful. On rare occasions I get really excited.I love old buildings, especially ruins and when I remember to take my camera, I share photos

In the Ever After

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

KenMaursCorner

My personal slant on my attempts at creative stitching,my garden,my feline family and the odd(very odd) comment on Life in general)

Susan Hook's embroidery and crafts

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

stitches and Life

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

AlarTTex

Nuestro Taller / Notre Atelier / Our Atelier

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 53 other followers

